TOPIC: 80's Pop Tone

80's Pop Tone 2 months 2 weeks ago #19451

Hi all. I’m fairly new to S-Gear. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a tone I’m looking to dial in using the software. I’m trying to get that glassy, trebley strat sound like you would hear in 80’s pop and in sort of a synth pop revival you would hear today. I’m guessing it’s not many of you guys’ cup of tea, but Girls by The 1975 is really good example of the sound I’m looking to produce. I’ll attach a link. My guess is that a lot of the sound has to do with heavy compression, which I know S-Gear doesn’t have. I’ve got Garageband and will be getting Logic fairly soon and I know there are some compressors in there. Maybe there’s a good plugin to incorporate with S-Gear or maybe I don’t need a compressor at all and can do it all in the software. I’m not sure. Any advice on this would be very helpful. Thanks in advance!

The 1975 - Girlshttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXYSD65UpSg
The following user(s) said Thank You: psklaroff
  • stratman88
  • Tone Seeker
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

80's Pop Tone 2 months 2 weeks ago #19454

Did you try 80's Chorus Clean? probably a good start point but definitely you'll need some compression. Try substituting the Wayfarer which has more bright lift potential plus the graphic EQ. A lot of 80's guitarists would go DI for their clean sound. I recall Alan Murphy (Go West) had a live rig that would switch between a DI clean and his stereo Super Champs for the over-driven stuff.

Mike
The following user(s) said Thank You: psklaroff, ges, stratman88
  • mike
  • Administrator
Last edit: 2 months 2 weeks ago by mike.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

80's Pop Tone 2 months 1 week ago #19460

File Attachment:

File Name: b18eff923568f30ce32602f6634fdbd9
File Size: 1,400 KB
Hi Stratman88,

Mike (as always) is spot on regarding the 80's chorus clean preset. I use that a lot for sounds like this. He's also right about the great Alan Murphy, who if you haven't heard you'd really enjoy.