TOPIC: My Top 3

My Top 3 2 months 2 weeks ago #22592

I’ve been using S-Gear for the last 4 years or so and am continually amazed by its versatility, authenticity and overall just how much fun it is to play through. A big ‘thank you’ to Mike S. for writing, maintaining and extending such an amazing piece of software. In my book, it’s sort of like the Photoshop of guitar, if you will. Or like what Roon is to music listening. If I’m not playing through my small collection of combo amps, I’m playing through S-Gear. Period. I try everything that comes out, like I imagine most of us do, but I always (always!) come back to S-Gear. And it’s made the last 11 months or so a heck of a lot more bearable being stuck inside my little apartment in Brooklyn. So Mike, again, THANK YOU!

It’s tough to follow all the threads about what should be in the next or future versions, so I thought I’d just add my $0.02 as a non-gigging player who uses S-Gear first and foremost to maintain my sanity but also as well for recording and sharing/collaborating on guitar parts with friends near and far. With all of the above in mind, I present my top 3 feature requests for what is already – far and away – the best electric guitar software of any kind ever made:

1) S-Gear needs an in-built function to high- and low-pass the signal coming out of it. Yeah, there are a ton of solutions and plugins for this (I own many), but ‘it would be great if’ S-Gear did this natively. This is one of the only things, really, keeping me from using the standalone version for casual playing (which in addition to being a lovely, simple thing to launch and get into, vastly reduces overhead and latency vs. something like even Mainstage, let alone a full DAW).