TOPIC: Plug-Ins With Upcoming OSX 10.15 (Catalina) Update

Plug-Ins With Upcoming OSX 10.15 (Catalina) Update 2 months 1 week ago #20324

FYI, I've been getting notices from various plug-in makers to hold off on updating to OSX 10.15 (Catalina) for awhile. While that's normal with an update, I've been getting more notices than usual. Mike posted info for S-Gear under "News". Might be best to wait until the dust settles before upgrading if you use a lot of plug-ins.
"Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." - Jack Handey
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Plug-Ins With Upcoming OSX 10.15 (Catalina) Update 2 months 1 week ago #20325

I've been testing Catalina for a few months and it's definitely going to force some changes to our habits. 32-bit apps are going away -- no loner usable on the Mac -- and I don't think most people realize just how many they use everyday. Developers are getting onboard with 64-bit versions of their products, but many still need to complete that process. S-Gear is 64-bit, so that's great news, but what Mike is referring to is another issue.

I don't see any good reason to upgrade to Catalina just yet, unless forced to (buying a new MacPro, etc.). Developers, and Apple themselves, will need a few months to smooth things over. ProTools users may need longer. Logic users will have earlier success.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Plug-Ins With Upcoming OSX 10.15 (Catalina) Update 2 months 1 week ago #20326

You can go under your Apple icon in the menu bar System Report>Software>Applications, and then sort your Applications list on "64-bit" to see which ones ("No") are 32-bit. I was surprised by my list.

And, according to Apple, "Legacy Core Audio HAL audio hardware plug-ins are no longer supported." I have no idea how many plug-ins that might affect because I don't know a lot about the workings of Core Audio.