• Page:

TOPIC: Pedals with s-gear?

Pedals with s-gear? 2 months 3 weeks ago #19973

I’ve got some pedals myself that I use with s-gear but I’m just a noob with no real tube amp of my own.

You guys/girls here with stacks of real amps, here is two questions:

1. how do you like having distortion and overdrive pedals in front of with s-gear? Sound and behaves like the real deal?

2. Is using a clean tone in s-gear the way to go or how do you set it up with overdrive pedals?

My aim is to buy more dist and drive pedals for rock and metal. But I get a bit worried I’m buying unnecessary stuff.
Last edit: 2 months 3 weeks ago by larserik.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Pedals with s-gear? 2 months 3 weeks ago #19974

I often plug my pedal board into S-Gear -- it takes to them very well. Distortion, OD, fuzz. All of it.
The following user(s) said Thank You: larserik
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Pedals with s-gear? 2 months 3 weeks ago #19983

Yes in front and yes it does behave very close to the real deal.

Clean and overdriven depending on the particular pedals.

Gain stack your pedals.
  • rose703
  • Tone Master
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Pedals with s-gear? 2 months 3 weeks ago #19988

Yes, S-Gear works well with physical pedals in front of it - there's one main exception: tube amp users frequently use pedals to drive their preamps hard - this means that they'll generate a lot of output. This is counterproductive in a digital S-Gear setup - all this will do is overdrive the input of your audio interface, which is something you'll definitely want to avoid (unless you're into veeeery special crackling sounds).

But if you've made the move to the digital world, why not use the digital equivalent of dist and drive pedals - there's a broad range of pretty good stuff out there: Mercuriall, Kuassa or Distorque come to mind. With a VST host like Cantabile, you can create complex effect chains including pedals and whatnot - and recall them at the touch of a button/pedal.

Cheers,

Torsten
SIGN-IN TO REPLY