TOPIC: Same settings but diff sound from standalone & DAW

Same settings but diff sound from standalone & DAW 4 years 1 month ago #11707

I'm new to S-gear (and fairly new to DAW/plugins) but I've noticed that the sound I'm hearing through the headphones differs even with the same Amp settings depending on whether I'm using the standalone, a DAW plugin, recording (playback sounds different than when recorded -less gain/delay/reverb).

I was wondering if others have observed the same thing.

Setup I'm using is windows 10 computer, DAW presonus studio one 2, presonus audiobox for interface.

It feels like each is seeing a different input signal level or handling the input signal differently.
  • civanodude
  • Tone Seeker
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Same settings but diff sound from standalone & DAW 4 years 1 month ago #11740

Curious. The more I play with s-gear, the more I feel the same.

Standalone version has some kind of "openess", clarity and definition that I just can't achieve in any daw or vst host (tried ableton live, reaper, cubase, cantabile, and others. Exception goes for plogue bidule, but that can't be called a daw... )

I play with a sample rate of 96khz (the one that sounds best to me - again, more clarity, etc...)

I don't know if it is some configuration in DAWs that I'm missing. It's like if some kind of compression was applied by default on most of them... or if it 's the case that the vst just works different (which I find unlikely)...
Never bothered me much though, since I don't record, mostly I play live, and for what I do, the standalone version gives me plenty.

Usually I put s-gear in a stereo track (so that only the right channels is feeded with a guitar signal), and output is stereo as well. Just like with the standalone version.

Nevertheless sound comes strange. Clearly something is wrong, but maybe it's just me who is setting it badly...
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

Same settings but diff sound from standalone & DAW 4 years 1 month ago #11742