TOPIC: Exporting S-Gear with Tonex...

Exporting S-Gear with Tonex... 2 weeks 6 days ago #24552

Hi all! I am very happy to join the S-Gear community. This is my first post here, but I am an old fart... I've been playing guitar for over 50 years now, mostly lead... Anyway, all this to say that although I've been hearing of S-Gear for a few years now, I just realized, a few days ago, after having downloaded the trial version that this piece of software is in a league of its own...

For many years, I'd been looking for an "in-the-box solution" for simplicity and convenience as far as reamping goes. I tried Overloud TH, Amplitube, NI Guitar Rig, Bias Amp and I've been disappointed with all of them out of the box. I could get decent sounds with quite a bit of tweaking, but still... I finally decided, 3 years ago, to buy external hardware, a Fractal AX8 which I like very much; however, it does not offer the convenience of an in-the-box solution. More recently, I decided to give S-Gear a chance and wow! It is night and day compared to all the others listed above. So I just acquired a license today! For the first time, I could get a great sound out of the box; all that is required of me is to decide if I want this already great sound to have more or less distortion, a slightly different EQ if needed... normal stuff... This software produces great sounds by default! This is a first as far as I am concerned.

I found it so good in fact that I wish I could bring these sounds with me outside of the studio. I found an old interview with Mike; at the end of it, he mentioned plans for a hardware solution. Maybe this project was abandoned because I could not find any other information about that. Using a laptop is not a viable solution for me.