TOPIC: S-Gear v2.90 is now available

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20788

Just installed 2.9 on IMac running Catalina, no problems here. Enjoy 150 % zoom. Thank you very much for your work.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20791

I feel left out. I didn’t get an email.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20793

qlne wrote:

I feel left out. I didn’t get an email.

Please drop me a message via contact !

The mailchimp system we use does drop some email addresses so we need to catch up on those.

Mike
The following user(s) said Thank You: qlne
  • mike
  • mike's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2117
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20794

Thanks very much. Looks really nice. I've installed it without problem on a MacBook Pro and appears to be working fine. The GUI looks nice and crisp. A minor point, but when I try and change the size it has no effect. This might be because I'm on a laptop is it? As it stands, the 100% is just fine, but I can't change the GUI to any of the other sizes. Is that on purpose?
Anyhow, thanks again.
  • Extraborg
  • Extraborg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Tone Seeker
  • Posts: 3
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20795

Thanks everyone for all the feedback!

This release has required a huge amount of development work and has been our biggest undertaking since first starting out with S-Gear. With so many changes there are certain to be some teething problems and we will do our best to work through any issues that arise.

For such a significant upgrade it is necessary for us to charge an upgrade fee and we've tried to be very reasonable about the pricing. We have also honoured our commitment to customers by backdating the free update period for new customers, something we feel is entirely fair.

As I have mentioned before, it is absolutely necessary to upgrade the foundations of S-Gear before adding further processing features.

Thanks again to everyone for your continued support and enthusiasm.

Cheers,
Mike
The following user(s) said Thank You: fatherjacques, ryentzer
  • mike
  • mike's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2117
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20796

Mike, this is awesome! I'm super stoked not only for what we now have, but for what is coming, whatever it may be. S-Gear has been the one reason I haven't bought any kind of hardware modeler, though Line6 has a new one that has some potential...Still, nothing beats S-Gear when I'm putting down tracks.
The following user(s) said Thank You: mike
Exact Science is Not an Exact Science - Nikola Tesla in The Prestige
scientificguitarist.wixsite.com/home
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20798

It also crashes cubase if you start a brand new project and load the VST3. So far this is the biggest disappointment of 2020.
  • dcameron666
  • dcameron666's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Tone Seeker
  • Posts: 4
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20800

I think your installer is.. well put it this way
I dont' use protools or AU.
So I deselected AU and AAX and yep that is when the app crashed even though I uninstalled all etc..
When I didn't deselet AU and AAX seems it is working now.
rsp

Edit yep it is the AU, the App needs the AU else it crashes.
Why oh why?
rsp
Last edit: 1 year 9 months ago by zvenx.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20803

Congratulations on the release, Mike! Love the upgraded preset system! All the best in the New Year!
The following user(s) said Thank You: mike
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20805

zvenx wrote:

Edit yep it is the AU, the App needs the AU else it crashes.
Why oh why?rsp

S-Gear standalone loads the AudioUnit. It has always worked this way.
  • mike
  • mike's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2117
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20807

Ah hah. Maybe there is a note somewhere or should be? Or make the installer so that you can't do the app AND disable AU.
I don't use the Standalone, haven't in years maybe that is why I didn't notice and because I needed it to authorize I bounced into it.
ok Off to delete both.
thanks
rsp
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20809

It's unclear in the release notes:
If I update to 2.9, can I still keep 2.7 iLOK installed and still use the iLok for that version?
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20811

I needed a hardware interface so I moved on and won’t be upgrading.
Wishing you all the best.

Steve
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20819

Mike - Congrats on getting 2.9 out the door. The upgrade documentation does a good job of explaining the new bank/preset / drag-drop functionality.

Installed without issue on my surface book windows 10 box and the UI is far easier to use on my 3K x 2K display. No issues with either the standalone app or as VST in Reaper.

Would love to know more about using the power amp settings.

Carl
Humbuckr
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20841

Not even install on Windows 7?
  • BrunoMariano
  • BrunoMariano's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Tone Master
  • Posts: 89
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20850

swaite wrote:

I needed a hardware interface so I moved on and won’t be upgrading.
Wishing you all the best.

Steve
Yes, same here. Will check back when 3.0 is available.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20855

+1 for a Windows 7 version. :)
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20856

In my humble opinion I think mike has every right to receive compensation for the work, he has fulfilled some of your suggestions. problem ?? that to do this all the s-gear had to be rewritten. I'm also sure that when there is a version 3, which is also to be seen, mike will take into account the people who have supported him by doing the current update. We all wait longer, we are never happy about anything and the society we live in always lives in abundance, and sometimes, this is not a good ally of quality and more music.

And I do not hide, I am the first to want more mike, because I know it will sound the first.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20903

qlne wrote:

I feel left out. I didn’t get an email.

Thought I was in the same boat, but turned out my email ended in Gmail's spam folder (I really don't see why, but ohwell), so a quick peek in the spam folder could be worth it :)
Last edit: 1 year 9 months ago by boasson.
SIGN-IN TO REPLY

S-Gear v2.90 is now available 1 year 9 months ago #20924

Hi.
Success installing on a windows 7 and a windows 10 machines, on both standalone and cubase 10.5.
Although, there's an issue with the midi ports config. I can only manage to access 8 midi ports, so I'm not able to select the right midi port of my midi switch pedal. This issue is in standalone.
On the other hand, in the plugin, it would be nice to have a midi learn function for the same porpouse.

Thanks for your work and please, keep on it!
SIGN-IN TO REPLY
Time to create page: 0.084 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum